Climate Action must be a Top Priority for the Next Parliament

62 scientists and experts have signed an open letter to the next Parliament of Australia, calling for whichever party that wins Government this Saturday to make urgent action on climate change a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

Prominent signatories of the open letter include: Nobel Prize winners Professor Peter Doherty AC and Dr. Sue Wareham OAM, former Australian of the Year Professor Fiona Stanley AC, former Chief Scientist of Australia Professor Penny Sackett and many of Australia’s leading scientists from disciplines including climate change, health, economics, energy, and finance, including Professor Hilary Bambrick, Professor Will Steffen and Professor Barbara Norman.

Add your name to the open letter below >

To the Next Parliament of Australia --

Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions are rising, moving the country further away from its Paris Agreement obligations.

Whichever party wins government on Saturday, urgent action on climate change must be a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

The consequences of climate change are already upon us; including harsher and more frequent extreme weather, destruction of natural ecosystems, severe property damage and a worldwide threat to human health.

Australia Institute research shows current emission reduction targets are incompatible with the goal of the 2015 Paris Agreement that aims to hold the rise in global temperature to 1.5°C and no more than 2.0°C above pre-industrial levels.

The solutions are all available to address climate change, all that is missing is the political will.

Who's signing

Tom Seiler
W B Burris
Graham Lalchere
Matilda Smith
Ian Grosser
Jesper Hansen
Malcolm Johnston
Ted Benjamin
Peter Morris
Paul Hense
andrew Robert-tissot
Peter Enge
Gill Scott
Charlotte Hanson
Kathy Prokhovnik
Val Maslen
jane harty
Sara Lodewyke
Frances B-P
Tegan Burton
Colin Ryan
Phillip Ward
Vik Boast
Jennie Minifie
Heather Chaplin
Jenny Thorp
Maxine Barry
Larissa Waterson
Ann Miller
Rob Dupear
5,239 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Tom Seiler
    signed 2019-05-24 06:24:10 +1000
    Tom Seiler
  • W B Burris
    signed 2019-05-24 06:03:13 +1000
  • Graham Lalchere
    signed 2019-05-24 05:06:44 +1000
  • Matilda Smith
    signed 2019-05-24 04:09:26 +1000
  • Ian Grosser
    signed 2019-05-24 03:23:26 +1000
  • Jesper Hansen
    signed 2019-05-24 02:34:33 +1000
  • Malcolm Johnston
    signed 2019-05-23 23:31:01 +1000
  • Ted Benjamin
    signed 2019-05-23 23:19:09 +1000
  • Peter Enge
    signed 2019-05-23 22:13:30 +1000
    Australian government inaction on climate change, particularly its facilitation of huge new fossil fuel projects, jeopardises the survival of humankind and our fellow species beyond the next 30 years.
  • Gill Scott
    signed 2019-05-23 22:13:27 +1000
  • Charlotte Hanson
    signed 2019-05-23 21:57:38 +1000
  • Kathy Prokhovnik
    signed 2019-05-23 21:45:55 +1000
  • Frances B-P
    signed 2019-05-23 21:23:03 +1000
  • Colin Ryan
    signed 2019-05-23 21:06:26 +1000
  • Heather Chaplin
    signed 2019-05-23 20:38:04 +1000
  • Jenny Thorp
    signed 2019-05-23 20:30:52 +1000
  • Maxine Barry
    signed 2019-05-23 20:30:15 +1000
    Maxine Barry
  • Ann Miller
    signed 2019-05-23 20:11:40 +1000