Climate Action must be a Top Priority for the Next Parliament

62 scientists and experts have signed an open letter to the next Parliament of Australia, calling for whichever party that wins Government this Saturday to make urgent action on climate change a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

Prominent signatories of the open letter include: Nobel Prize winners Professor Peter Doherty AC and Dr. Sue Wareham OAM, former Australian of the Year Professor Fiona Stanley AC, former Chief Scientist of Australia Professor Penny Sackett and many of Australia’s leading scientists from disciplines including climate change, health, economics, energy, and finance, including Professor Hilary Bambrick, Professor Will Steffen and Professor Barbara Norman.

Add your name to the open letter below >

To the Next Parliament of Australia --

Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions are rising, moving the country further away from its Paris Agreement obligations.

Whichever party wins government on Saturday, urgent action on climate change must be a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

The consequences of climate change are already upon us; including harsher and more frequent extreme weather, destruction of natural ecosystems, severe property damage and a worldwide threat to human health.

Australia Institute research shows current emission reduction targets are incompatible with the goal of the 2015 Paris Agreement that aims to hold the rise in global temperature to 1.5°C and no more than 2.0°C above pre-industrial levels.

The solutions are all available to address climate change, all that is missing is the political will.

Who's signing

Luan Danaan
Jette Bollerup
Marita Lukies
Nina Van Ewijk
John Casburn
Jennifer Bradley
Penelope Lumb
Peter Christy
Michael Mozina
Isaac Wade
Chakae D'Ellencourt
Catherine Skippington
Geoff Wall
Ann McLean
Sara Dowse
Christine Cocks
Michael O'Halloran
Monica Winston
Wanda Gunawardana
Kit Murphie
Aleisha Brown
Linda Jaivin
Allan O'Connell
Jenny Richardson
Jane Dinsdale
Peter Reay-Young
Karina Glasby
Donald Barnes
Roderick Prince
Danica Sajn
5,321 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Luan Danaan
    signed 2019-05-25 23:11:14 +1000
  • Marita Lukies
    signed 2019-05-25 18:51:06 +1000
  • John Casburn
    signed 2019-05-25 16:46:57 +1000
  • Michael Mozina
    signed 2019-05-25 14:47:12 +1000
  • Isaac Wade
    signed 2019-05-25 14:38:08 +1000
  • Chakae D'Ellencourt
    signed 2019-05-25 14:33:14 +1000
    Chakae D’Ellencourt
  • Catherine Skippington
    signed 2019-05-25 14:02:34 +1000
    Catherine Skippington
  • Geoff Wall
    signed 2019-05-25 13:46:27 +1000
  • Ann McLean
    signed 2019-05-25 12:39:41 +1000
  • Christine Cocks
    signed 2019-05-25 12:00:14 +1000
    Christine Cocks
  • Michael O'Halloran
    signed 2019-05-25 11:54:23 +1000
  • Linda Jaivin
    signed 2019-05-25 09:07:59 +1000
  • Jenny Richardson
    signed 2019-05-25 07:25:38 +1000
  • Peter Reay-Young
    signed 2019-05-25 04:39:11 +1000
  • Karina Glasby
    signed 2019-05-25 00:53:16 +1000
  • Donald Barnes
    signed 2019-05-24 23:16:31 +1000
  • Roderick Prince
    signed 2019-05-24 22:38:32 +1000
    An election win does not mean business as usual. I means that you are responsible for the future of Australia for the next 3 years and they are crucial to the health of planet earth, our only home.
  • Danica Sajn
    signed 2019-05-24 21:45:53 +1000