Climate Action must be a Top Priority for the Next Parliament

62 scientists and experts have signed an open letter to the next Parliament of Australia, calling for whichever party that wins Government this Saturday to make urgent action on climate change a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

Prominent signatories of the open letter include: Nobel Prize winners Professor Peter Doherty AC and Dr. Sue Wareham OAM, former Australian of the Year Professor Fiona Stanley AC, former Chief Scientist of Australia Professor Penny Sackett and many of Australia’s leading scientists from disciplines including climate change, health, economics, energy, and finance, including Professor Hilary Bambrick, Professor Will Steffen and Professor Barbara Norman.

Add your name to the open letter below >

To the Next Parliament of Australia --

Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions are rising, moving the country further away from its Paris Agreement obligations.

Whichever party wins government on Saturday, urgent action on climate change must be a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

The consequences of climate change are already upon us; including harsher and more frequent extreme weather, destruction of natural ecosystems, severe property damage and a worldwide threat to human health.

Australia Institute research shows current emission reduction targets are incompatible with the goal of the 2015 Paris Agreement that aims to hold the rise in global temperature to 1.5°C and no more than 2.0°C above pre-industrial levels.

The solutions are all available to address climate change, all that is missing is the political will.

Who's signing

Jonathan Bailey
Julie Shiels
Michelle Ryan
Heinz Schrepfer
Trevor Naughton
Paul Butler
Greg Johnson
Christine and Tony Farrell
Iris Bysouth
Jill Pierce
Callum Lawrie
Jean Thomson
Al Holding
Phil Browne
Stephen Fitzgerald
Ethan Briffa
Roy Jackson
Lorena Vincent
Hazel Wood
Fred Schilling
phil Osanga
Martin Oliver
Melanie Gersbach
Vanessa Milligan
Thomas Driftwood
Fiona Marano
darren clark
Bradley George
Adam Gersbach
Christopher Morrison
5,321 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Jonathan Bailey
    signed 2019-11-12 19:00:55 +1100
  • Julie Shiels
    signed 2019-11-11 19:02:20 +1100
    Julie Shiels
  • Heinz Schrepfer
    signed 2019-11-07 13:13:46 +1100
  • Trevor Naughton
    signed 2019-11-07 09:36:16 +1100
    How Good is Coal in Parliament ?

    How Good is the proposed Collinsville Power Station ?

    The rebuilt one was shut down shortly after recommissioning, as it was unviable.

    Again. The Stone Age did not finish because we ran out of stone.
  • Paul Butler
    signed 2019-11-06 15:05:53 +1100
  • Greg Johnson
    signed 2019-10-31 18:04:33 +1100
    Yes – SOLUTIONS across ALL sectors of the Australian ECONOMY are available NOW! With the three tiers of Government, Industry, Business, the Labour Movement, NGO’s, Scientific Organisations and the Community coming together Australia could lead the World in transitioning to a Decarbonised Circular Economy, where no one is left behind economically and socially.
  • Christine and Tony Farrell
    signed 2019-10-30 10:16:30 +1100
    Climate Action is the main priority for our family. Our actual future is at stake. Look clearly at the science, not the economic rationalism. No jobs, tourism, joy, nature, farms, mines etc. on a dead planet
  • Iris Bysouth
    signed 2019-10-28 15:59:30 +1100
  • Callum Lawrie
    signed 2019-10-17 13:23:24 +1100
  • Jean Thomson
    signed 2019-10-12 10:23:26 +1100
  • Al Holding
    signed 2019-10-11 14:25:58 +1100
  • Phil Browne
    signed 2019-10-10 16:26:07 +1100
  • Stephen Fitzgerald
    signed 2019-10-09 16:42:34 +1100
    Inaction on climate change exposes a flaw in our political system, a system set up by industrialists to serve industrialists. Right-wing governments, by their nature, are the political arm of big business. That’s why they have so much trouble running the country, it’s not their real job.
  • Ethan Briffa
    signed 2019-10-07 10:11:41 +1100
  • Roy Jackson
    signed 2019-10-05 07:25:42 +1000
  • Lorena Vincent
    signed 2019-10-02 11:39:06 +1000
  • Hazel Wood
    signed 2019-09-30 12:33:44 +1000
    Hazel Wood
  • Fred Schilling
    signed 2019-09-28 09:06:41 +1000
  • phil Osanga
    signed 2019-09-20 17:37:48 +1000
  • Martin Oliver
    signed 2019-09-13 09:00:00 +1000
  • Melanie Gersbach
    signed 2019-09-12 14:22:19 +1000
  • Vanessa Milligan
    signed 2019-09-12 13:46:43 +1000
  • Thomas Driftwood
    signed 2019-09-12 13:35:27 +1000
  • darren clark
    signed 2019-08-29 13:55:56 +1000
    no economy without environment
  • Bradley George
    signed 2019-08-23 08:43:57 +1000
  • Adam Gersbach
    signed 2019-08-20 14:49:42 +1000
  • Christopher Morrison
    signed 2019-08-19 20:20:43 +1000