Climate Action must be a Top Priority for the Next Parliament

62 scientists and experts have signed an open letter to the next Parliament of Australia, calling for whichever party that wins Government this Saturday to make urgent action on climate change a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

Prominent signatories of the open letter include: Nobel Prize winners Professor Peter Doherty AC and Dr. Sue Wareham OAM, former Australian of the Year Professor Fiona Stanley AC, former Chief Scientist of Australia Professor Penny Sackett and many of Australia’s leading scientists from disciplines including climate change, health, economics, energy, and finance, including Professor Hilary Bambrick, Professor Will Steffen and Professor Barbara Norman.

Add your name to the open letter below >

To the Next Parliament of Australia --

Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions are rising, moving the country further away from its Paris Agreement obligations.

Whichever party wins government on Saturday, urgent action on climate change must be a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

The consequences of climate change are already upon us; including harsher and more frequent extreme weather, destruction of natural ecosystems, severe property damage and a worldwide threat to human health.

Australia Institute research shows current emission reduction targets are incompatible with the goal of the 2015 Paris Agreement that aims to hold the rise in global temperature to 1.5°C and no more than 2.0°C above pre-industrial levels.

The solutions are all available to address climate change, all that is missing is the political will.

Who's signing

Bill McGarry
Bek Ireland
Amanda Reddell
Diana Scambler
Ralph Reilly
Melinda Graefe
Glen White
Toby Pamment
Cameron Jones
Timothy Rose
vicki mcinnes
Keryn Jones
Eryn Morgan
Linda Peterson
Valerie Graham
Sally Forsstrom
Jeff Moran
Jeanette Lake
Andrew Walker
VVincent Dacy
Ian Wadham
Alison White
Gavan Prendergast
Paul Dobson
Garry Pearson OAM
5,262 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Bill McGarry
    signed 2019-05-16 08:10:55 +1000
  • Bek Ireland
    signed 2019-05-16 08:09:38 +1000
  • Amanda Reddell
    signed 2019-05-16 08:08:52 +1000
  • Diana Scambler
    signed 2019-05-16 08:07:39 +1000
  • Ralph Reilly
    signed 2019-05-16 08:06:29 +1000
  • Melinda Graefe
    signed 2019-05-16 08:04:11 +1000
  • Glen White
    signed 2019-05-16 08:00:37 +1000
    Glen White
  • Toby Pamment
    signed 2019-05-16 07:59:10 +1000
  • Timothy Rose
    signed 2019-05-16 07:58:16 +1000
  • vicki mcinnes
    signed 2019-05-16 07:57:58 +1000
    Why are our politicians not LEADING?
  • Keryn Jones
    signed 2019-05-16 07:55:15 +1000
  • Eryn Morgan
    signed 2019-05-16 07:55:03 +1000
  • Linda Peterson
    signed 2019-05-16 07:54:01 +1000
  • Valerie Graham
    signed 2019-05-16 07:53:11 +1000
  • Sally Forsstrom
    signed 2019-05-16 07:52:34 +1000
    Convenor GasFieldFreeDubboRegion
  • Jeff Moran
    signed 2019-05-16 07:51:25 +1000
    I signed this for my Grandkids for which we have potentially made this planet almost uninhabitable if nothing is done to curb emissions now.
  • Jeanette Lake
    signed 2019-05-16 07:48:19 +1000
  • Andrew Walker
    signed 2019-05-16 07:29:42 +1000
  • VVincent Dacy
    signed 2019-05-16 07:23:30 +1000
    Vincent John Dacy
  • Ian Wadham
    signed 2019-05-16 07:11:46 +1000
  • Alison White
    signed 2019-05-16 06:55:44 +1000
    We must make a real effort to reverse the change we humans have made which is already causing catastrophic events worldwide.

    Cease and desist the “creative accounting” which falsifies the record of “meeting” our obligations.

    Any attempt is far better than nothing.

    To quote those immortal Paul Kelly words “From little things, big things grow”.

    We have only this planet to live on: we MUST look after it!
  • Gavan Prendergast
    signed 2019-05-16 06:49:17 +1000
    I notice good progress was made in Gas Emissions before 2015. From 2015 it has been a steady climb in the wrong direction. Easy to see what happened in 2015?
  • Paul Dobson
    signed 2019-05-16 06:47:30 +1000
  • Garry Pearson OAM
    signed 2019-05-16 06:46:40 +1000