Climate Action must be a Top Priority for the Next Parliament

62 scientists and experts have signed an open letter to the next Parliament of Australia, calling for whichever party that wins Government this Saturday to make urgent action on climate change a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

Prominent signatories of the open letter include: Nobel Prize winners Professor Peter Doherty AC and Dr. Sue Wareham OAM, former Australian of the Year Professor Fiona Stanley AC, former Chief Scientist of Australia Professor Penny Sackett and many of Australia’s leading scientists from disciplines including climate change, health, economics, energy, and finance, including Professor Hilary Bambrick, Professor Will Steffen and Professor Barbara Norman.

Add your name to the open letter below >

To the Next Parliament of Australia --

Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions are rising, moving the country further away from its Paris Agreement obligations.

Whichever party wins government on Saturday, urgent action on climate change must be a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

The consequences of climate change are already upon us; including harsher and more frequent extreme weather, destruction of natural ecosystems, severe property damage and a worldwide threat to human health.

Australia Institute research shows current emission reduction targets are incompatible with the goal of the 2015 Paris Agreement that aims to hold the rise in global temperature to 1.5°C and no more than 2.0°C above pre-industrial levels.

The solutions are all available to address climate change, all that is missing is the political will.

Who's signing

William Raper
Malcolm Whyte
Karina Seljak
James Farrell
NIcole Riles
Eddy Blaxell
Jen Gardiner
Sylvia David
Christopher Chambers
John Woodhouse
Pamela Jordan
Bert Jenkins
Nicholas Sutton
Sharyn Munro
Laura Murray Cree
Emma Stock
Zoe Dobson
Glenn Dorizzi
Brian Martin
Clare Sullivan
Marie Emmitt
Andrew Lucas
Phil Morgan
Adam Brett
Morton Anna
Annie Wicks
Michael Bennell
Gerard De Ruyter
Rosemary Stanton
Dinah Della-Porta
5,321 signatures

Will you sign?

  • William Raper
    signed 2019-05-16 11:34:14 +1000
    FRACI, M. Env. Sc., Senior Principal Research Scientist, CSIRO (retired).
  • Malcolm Whyte
    signed 2019-05-16 11:34:13 +1000
  • Karina Seljak
    signed 2019-05-16 11:34:10 +1000
    Karina Seljak
  • James Farrell
    signed 2019-05-16 11:34:07 +1000
  • NIcole Riles
    signed 2019-05-16 11:34:07 +1000
  • Eddy Blaxell
    signed 2019-05-16 11:34:03 +1000
  • Jen Gardiner
    signed 2019-05-16 11:34:03 +1000
    There is only one planet! If we care about the circumstances of future generations we must act now to protect our planet.
  • Sylvia David
    signed 2019-05-16 11:34:01 +1000
  • Christopher Chambers
    signed 2019-05-16 11:34:00 +1000
    The human population growth trajectory MUST be turned around. Just compare the population and emmisions growth curves since 1950. This is no coincidence.
  • John Woodhouse
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:56 +1000
    John Woodhouse
  • Pamela Jordan
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:56 +1000
  • Bert Jenkins
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:55 +1000
  • Nicholas Sutton
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:50 +1000
    Cmon Australia i’m Almost 40 and learnt about climate change in primary school. We are leaders, let’s lead the world to a post carbon energy future
  • Sharyn Munro
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:45 +1000
  • Laura Murray Cree
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:43 +1000
  • Emma Stock
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:43 +1000
  • Zoe Dobson
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:39 +1000
  • Glenn Dorizzi
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:37 +1000
  • Brian Martin
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:36 +1000
  • Clare Sullivan
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:25 +1000
  • Marie Emmitt
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:16 +1000
    Marie Therese Emmitt
  • Andrew Lucas
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:16 +1000
    Andrew Lucas
  • Phil Morgan
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:15 +1000
  • Adam Brett
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:15 +1000
  • Morton Anna
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:11 +1000
  • Annie Wicks
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:10 +1000
  • Michael Bennell
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:07 +1000
  • Gerard De Ruyter
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:06 +1000
  • Rosemary Stanton
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:05 +1000
    No spot to use my preferred title which is Dr Rosemary Stanton OAM
  • Dinah Della-Porta
    signed 2019-05-16 11:33:05 +1000