Climate Action must be a Top Priority for the Next Parliament

62 scientists and experts have signed an open letter to the next Parliament of Australia, calling for whichever party that wins Government this Saturday to make urgent action on climate change a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

Prominent signatories of the open letter include: Nobel Prize winners Professor Peter Doherty AC and Dr. Sue Wareham OAM, former Australian of the Year Professor Fiona Stanley AC, former Chief Scientist of Australia Professor Penny Sackett and many of Australia’s leading scientists from disciplines including climate change, health, economics, energy, and finance, including Professor Hilary Bambrick, Professor Will Steffen and Professor Barbara Norman.

Add your name to the open letter below >

To the Next Parliament of Australia --

Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions are rising, moving the country further away from its Paris Agreement obligations.

Whichever party wins government on Saturday, urgent action on climate change must be a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

The consequences of climate change are already upon us; including harsher and more frequent extreme weather, destruction of natural ecosystems, severe property damage and a worldwide threat to human health.

Australia Institute research shows current emission reduction targets are incompatible with the goal of the 2015 Paris Agreement that aims to hold the rise in global temperature to 1.5°C and no more than 2.0°C above pre-industrial levels.

The solutions are all available to address climate change, all that is missing is the political will.

Who's signing

Rene Erhardt
John Payne
Catherine Miniken
Paul Hamilton
Dennis Murphy
Neil Campbell
Ben Woods
John Wyatt
Susan Dwyer
Pat Stapleton
Caroline Braden
Cheryl Fitzpatrick
Jeff Hopkins-Weise
Jason Cullen
Karey Harrison
Jim Moore
Tamara Lawrentin
Judith Smith
Josephine Ben-Tovim
Perry Gretton
Barry Gardner
Warwick Tweedie
Kirrily Jordan
Sam Harvey
Tanya Rogers
Roy Bishop
Marisa Strazzari
Syd Herron
Anthony Sheehan
Mark Zanker
5,231 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Rene Erhardt
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:52 +1000
  • John Payne
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:49 +1000
  • Catherine Miniken
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:49 +1000
    It is time to stand up for our planet and our future – time to ban coal and develop other sources of baseload power. If the big end of town wants political support than get it for all the right and clean energy reasons.
  • Paul Hamilton
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:49 +1000
    Stop being stupid and start acting like adults. Fix the problem.
  • Dennis Murphy
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:47 +1000
  • Neil Campbell
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:39 +1000
  • Ben Woods
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:39 +1000
  • John Wyatt
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:39 +1000
  • Susan Dwyer
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:38 +1000
  • Pat Stapleton
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:35 +1000
  • Caroline Braden
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:35 +1000
  • Cheryl Fitzpatrick
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:32 +1000
  • Jeff Hopkins-Weise
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:31 +1000
    Jeff Hopkins-Weise
  • Jason Cullen
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:30 +1000
    It’s mind-boggling that the existential threat posed by climate change is being treated as a partisan issue. It’s not. We all share the same planet, and if governments don’t take serious action right now, we’ll all be buried on the same planet.
  • Karey Harrison
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:28 +1000
  • Jim Moore
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:25 +1000
    Jim Moore
  • Tamara Lawrentin
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:23 +1000
  • Judith Smith
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:21 +1000
  • Josephine Ben-Tovim
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:18 +1000
  • Perry Gretton
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:17 +1000
  • Barry Gardner
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:16 +1000
  • Warwick Tweedie
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:14 +1000
  • Kirrily Jordan
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:12 +1000
  • Sam Harvey
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:09 +1000
  • Tanya Rogers
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:06 +1000
    Tanya Rogers
  • Roy Bishop
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:05 +1000
  • Marisa Strazzari
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:03 +1000
  • Syd Herron
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:03 +1000
  • Anthony Sheehan
    signed 2019-05-16 11:35:00 +1000
  • Mark Zanker
    signed 2019-05-16 11:34:57 +1000