Climate Action must be a Top Priority for the Next Parliament

62 scientists and experts have signed an open letter to the next Parliament of Australia, calling for whichever party that wins Government this Saturday to make urgent action on climate change a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

Prominent signatories of the open letter include: Nobel Prize winners Professor Peter Doherty AC and Dr. Sue Wareham OAM, former Australian of the Year Professor Fiona Stanley AC, former Chief Scientist of Australia Professor Penny Sackett and many of Australia’s leading scientists from disciplines including climate change, health, economics, energy, and finance, including Professor Hilary Bambrick, Professor Will Steffen and Professor Barbara Norman.

Add your name to the open letter below >

To the Next Parliament of Australia --

Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions are rising, moving the country further away from its Paris Agreement obligations.

Whichever party wins government on Saturday, urgent action on climate change must be a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

The consequences of climate change are already upon us; including harsher and more frequent extreme weather, destruction of natural ecosystems, severe property damage and a worldwide threat to human health.

Australia Institute research shows current emission reduction targets are incompatible with the goal of the 2015 Paris Agreement that aims to hold the rise in global temperature to 1.5°C and no more than 2.0°C above pre-industrial levels.

The solutions are all available to address climate change, all that is missing is the political will.

Who's signing

Dr Paul Smith
Rob Scott
Erica Phillips
Catherine Legg
Ryan Saunderson
Nicci Richman
Iris Bergmann
Maree Williams
Louise Kiddell
Josh Mason
Heather Worth
Jayne Keogh
David Cassells
Sara Isherwood
Anne Tamblyn
René de Jong
Robyne Hobson
Josie McSkimming
Joan Eckersley
Monica Dure
Arthur Chesterfield-Evans
Pettina Stanghon
Gay Spies
Nat Day
Erica Jolly
Oliver Anderson
Pamela Murphy
Steve Hayward
Hugo Dabron
Jane Leadley
5,231 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Dr Paul Smith
    signed 2019-05-23 14:56:23 +1000
    Dr Paul Smith
  • Rob Scott
    signed 2019-05-23 14:51:56 +1000
  • Catherine Legg
    signed 2019-05-23 14:45:31 +1000
  • Ryan Saunderson
    signed 2019-05-23 14:42:27 +1000
  • Iris Bergmann
    signed 2019-05-23 14:22:39 +1000
  • Maree Williams
    signed 2019-05-23 14:19:35 +1000
  • Louise Kiddell
    signed 2019-05-23 14:16:21 +1000
  • Josh Mason
    signed 2019-05-23 14:13:58 +1000
  • Jayne Keogh
    signed 2019-05-23 14:07:30 +1000
    The long term costs of doing nothing in regard to action against climate change far outweigh the costs of doing nothing! The new government MUST act now!
  • David Cassells
    signed 2019-05-23 14:02:35 +1000
    The climate emergency will not go away. NQ workers need sustainable jobs in a low-carbon economy not illusions of employment in financially marginal and environmentally damaging fossil fuel extraction projects.
  • Robyne Hobson
    signed 2019-05-23 13:52:21 +1000
  • Arthur Chesterfield-Evans
    signed 2019-05-23 13:48:51 +1000
  • Gay Spies
    signed 2019-05-23 13:46:34 +1000
  • Erica Jolly
    signed 2019-05-23 13:43:25 +1000
    The UK government has recognised that there is a climate crisis due to global heating. There are things we can do to mitigate its effects. A government that operates only in a reactive way after serious evidence of its impact is failing in its duties to all Australians. There are many ways it can be pro-active by supporting the efforts to decrease the impact of pollution. Those ways are known. Thanks to our publicly-owned ABC, we have had the ‘War on Waste’. While ordinary people are doing more not to burn, not to increase the pollution in the atmosphere and in the oceans, we need our representatives to match and improve on their commitment. We provide the revenue. As the government for the next three years, you have a duty to all of us. Please fulfil it. Yours sincerely, Erica Jolly, Electorate of Hindmarsh.
  • Oliver Anderson
    signed 2019-05-23 13:41:40 +1000
  • Pamela Murphy
    signed 2019-05-23 13:41:27 +1000
  • Hugo Dabron
    signed 2019-05-23 13:34:11 +1000