Climate Action must be a Top Priority for the Next Parliament

62 scientists and experts have signed an open letter to the next Parliament of Australia, calling for whichever party that wins Government this Saturday to make urgent action on climate change a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

Prominent signatories of the open letter include: Nobel Prize winners Professor Peter Doherty AC and Dr. Sue Wareham OAM, former Australian of the Year Professor Fiona Stanley AC, former Chief Scientist of Australia Professor Penny Sackett and many of Australia’s leading scientists from disciplines including climate change, health, economics, energy, and finance, including Professor Hilary Bambrick, Professor Will Steffen and Professor Barbara Norman.

Add your name to the open letter below >

To the Next Parliament of Australia --

Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions are rising, moving the country further away from its Paris Agreement obligations.

Whichever party wins government on Saturday, urgent action on climate change must be a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

The consequences of climate change are already upon us; including harsher and more frequent extreme weather, destruction of natural ecosystems, severe property damage and a worldwide threat to human health.

Australia Institute research shows current emission reduction targets are incompatible with the goal of the 2015 Paris Agreement that aims to hold the rise in global temperature to 1.5°C and no more than 2.0°C above pre-industrial levels.

The solutions are all available to address climate change, all that is missing is the political will.

Who's signing

Robert sulzberger
Gabrielle Arellano-Gerrard
Pauline Bindoff
Helen Phillips
Karen Hopkins
Lucy Osborn
Robert Bearne
Colin Walpole
Rena Friswell
therese mulford
Carole Lush
Richard Pickup
Mary Boland
Nella Pickup
Marie-Therese Brown
Xanthe Sefton
Patti Nicholson
Margaret Ratcliffe
Brian Horne
Wendy Roberts
L. Elaine Miller
Valerie Lewis
Julie Pratt
janine Mosford
Nigel Denbigh
Ian Harris
Brigid Dowsett
Georgina Longhurst
Bethany Packer
Colin Reid
5,325 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Gabrielle Arellano-Gerrard
    signed 2019-05-24 15:36:42 +1000
    Gabrielle Arellano-Gerrard
  • Helen Phillips
    signed 2019-05-24 15:24:51 +1000
  • Lucy Osborn
    signed 2019-05-24 15:05:12 +1000
  • Robert Bearne
    signed 2019-05-24 15:01:30 +1000
  • Rena Friswell
    signed 2019-05-24 14:17:03 +1000
    Our government must act now to move Australia’s to a low carbon economy and provide the opportunities that will allow a just transition for workers currently reliant on fossil fuel industries. Failing to address this crisis urgently and significantly is not an option if there is to be a liveable future.
  • Carole Lush
    signed 2019-05-24 13:33:28 +1000
  • Richard Pickup
    signed 2019-05-24 13:24:45 +1000
  • Mary Boland
    signed 2019-05-24 13:23:49 +1000
  • Nella Pickup
    signed 2019-05-24 13:20:12 +1000
  • Marie-Therese Brown
    signed 2019-05-24 12:59:54 +1000
  • Xanthe Sefton
    signed 2019-05-24 12:44:12 +1000
  • Brian Horne
    signed 2019-05-24 12:24:40 +1000
    Brian Horne
  • Wendy Roberts
    signed 2019-05-24 12:09:15 +1000
  • Julie Pratt
    signed 2019-05-24 11:22:08 +1000
    All life depends on our environment. Politicians must put the health of our planet above all else.
  • Nigel Denbigh
    signed 2019-05-24 11:11:09 +1000
  • Ian Harris
    signed 2019-05-24 10:43:41 +1000
    Please combat climate change and protect the natural environment for my grandchildren
  • Brigid Dowsett
    signed 2019-05-24 10:40:19 +1000
    Brigid Dowsett
  • Georgina Longhurst
    signed 2019-05-24 10:15:27 +1000
  • Colin Reid
    signed 2019-05-24 09:53:24 +1000