Climate Action must be a Top Priority for the Next Parliament

62 scientists and experts have signed an open letter to the next Parliament of Australia, calling for whichever party that wins Government this Saturday to make urgent action on climate change a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

Prominent signatories of the open letter include: Nobel Prize winners Professor Peter Doherty AC and Dr. Sue Wareham OAM, former Australian of the Year Professor Fiona Stanley AC, former Chief Scientist of Australia Professor Penny Sackett and many of Australia’s leading scientists from disciplines including climate change, health, economics, energy, and finance, including Professor Hilary Bambrick, Professor Will Steffen and Professor Barbara Norman.

Add your name to the open letter below >

To the Next Parliament of Australia --

Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions are rising, moving the country further away from its Paris Agreement obligations.

Whichever party wins government on Saturday, urgent action on climate change must be a top priority for the 46th Parliament of Australia.

The consequences of climate change are already upon us; including harsher and more frequent extreme weather, destruction of natural ecosystems, severe property damage and a worldwide threat to human health.

Australia Institute research shows current emission reduction targets are incompatible with the goal of the 2015 Paris Agreement that aims to hold the rise in global temperature to 1.5°C and no more than 2.0°C above pre-industrial levels.

The solutions are all available to address climate change, all that is missing is the political will.

Who's signing

David Smith
Bill Paine
Phil Walcott
Chloe Blake
Jessica Nixon
Anna Harvey
Michael Hassett
Jacquie Sheils
Wendy Logan
Cosetta Cavazza
Ian Empson
Caitlin Heckler
Julia Kettel
Lyn Fowler
Anneke Borger
Johanna Borger
Andrew Simpson
Mark de Wolf
Phillipa Cannon
Phil Price
Alex Cambridge
Elizabeth Whiteway
Bettina Bettington
Jemima Lohse
Kate Lohse
Henry Lohse
Chris Campbell
Jessica Smith
Robyn Counter
Morgan McDougall
5,323 signatures

Will you sign?

  • David Smith
    signed 2020-01-28 12:54:14 +1100
  • Bill Paine
    signed 2020-01-28 12:19:44 +1100
    Morrison lacks the political will to SIGNIFICANTLY reduce Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions because he’s on the payroll of the coal industry through political party donations. He’s essentially the coal industry’s bitch.
  • Chloe Blake
    signed 2020-01-18 15:13:57 +1100
  • Jessica Nixon
    signed 2020-01-15 08:19:55 +1100
  • Anna Harvey
    signed 2020-01-13 18:40:46 +1100
  • Michael Hassett
    signed 2020-01-12 21:12:55 +1100
  • Jacquie Sheils
    signed 2020-01-09 15:09:07 +1100
    The absurd situation in Australia where our politicians fail to address the issue of climate change even as it is ruining lives, the environment and our economy must come to an end if we are to live in a habitable country.
  • Wendy Logan
    signed 2020-01-09 14:47:28 +1100
    So important an issue
  • Cosetta Cavazza
    signed 2020-01-09 03:42:32 +1100
  • Ian Empson
    signed 2020-01-07 09:59:31 +1100
  • Caitlin Heckler
    signed 2020-01-06 15:40:30 +1100
  • Julia Kettel
    signed 2020-01-06 13:48:58 +1100
  • Lyn Fowler
    signed 2020-01-06 13:17:21 +1100
  • Anneke Borger
    signed 2020-01-06 12:45:20 +1100
  • Mark de Wolf
    signed 2020-01-05 17:44:32 +1100
  • Alex Cambridge
    signed 2020-01-05 11:51:20 +1100
  • Elizabeth Whiteway
    signed 2020-01-04 21:55:41 +1100
  • Kate Lohse
    signed 2020-01-04 14:29:20 +1100
  • Henry Lohse
    signed 2020-01-04 14:23:17 +1100
  • Chris Campbell
    signed 2020-01-04 10:10:01 +1100
  • Jessica Smith
    signed 2020-01-04 08:50:33 +1100
  • Robyn Counter
    signed 2020-01-04 08:41:44 +1100
  • Morgan McDougall
    signed 2020-01-04 06:56:24 +1100